◢ Rosetta mission


Rosetta mission
Rosetta mission

On 12 November 2014, ESA's Rosetta mission soft-landed its Philae probe on comet 67P/Churyumov-Gerasimenko, the first time in history that such an extraordinary feat has been achieved. During the next phase of the mission, Rosetta will accompany the comet through perihelion (August 2015) until the nominal end of the mission. On its 10 year journey towards comet 67P/Churyumov-Gerasimenko, the spacecraft has passed by two asteroids: 2867 Steins (in 2008) and 21 Lutetia (in 2010). The spacecraft entered deep-space hibernation mode in June 2011, and 'woke up' on 20 January 2014.

As Philae approached Comet 67P/Churyumov-Gerasimenko on 12 November 2014, the lander's downward-looking camera ROLIS took images of the descent. Now the ROLIS team from DLR has used two of them to produce a stereographic image. To appreciate the 3D effect, the image must be viewed with red-blue/green glasses.

This image combines two ROLIS images, acquired about an hour before the first touchdown at 15:34 GMT/16:34 CET (time onboard the spacecraft), which was confirmed on Earth at 16:03 GMT/17:03 CET. The images are separated by two minutes and the resolution is three metres per pixel. *** The ROsetta Lander Imaging System (ROLIS) was developed by the DLR Institute of Planetary Research in Berlin, Germany, under the leadership of principal investigator Stefano Mottola.



Rosetta web sites:

http://blogs.esa.int/rosetta/
http://sci.esa.int/rosetta/









◢ Notizie correlate a: High Technology News

◢ Network Sites